Pres. Jackson announces Senate committee assignments

AUGUSTA — On Friday, Senate President Troy Jackson of Allagash announced the committee assignments for the 130th Maine Senate. There are 17 joint-standing committees and the Government Oversight Committee.

“In the Maine Senate, our differences are our greatest strength. These committee assignments leverage our different backgrounds, experience, interests and constituencies, so we can rebuild our communities and economy, and leave them stronger than before,” said President Jackson. “Maine lawmakers all share a deep love for Maine people and the future of our state. Now that we have committee assignments for the 130th Maine Legislature, it’s time for them to come together and get to work.”

Lawmakers are assigned to committees by the presiding officers based on their interests, experience and professional background. Joint-standing committees are composed of three senators and ten representatives.

Below is a full list of the committee assignments for the Maine Senate:

Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry

  • James F. Dill, Chair (D-Penobscot)
  • Chloe S. Maxmin (D-Lincoln)
  • Russell Black (R-Franklin)

Appropriations and Financial Affairs

  • Catherine E. Breen, Chair (D-Cumberland)
  • Donna Bailey (D-York)
  • Paul T. Davis, Sr. (R-Piscataquis)

Criminal Justice and Public Safety

  • Susan A. Deschambault, Chair (D-York)
  • Mark W. Lawrence (D-York)
  • Scott W. Cyrway (R-Kennebec)

Education and Cultural Affairs

  • Matthea Daughtry, Chair (D-Cumberland)
  • Joseph Rafferty (D-York)
  • David C. Woodsome (R-York)

Energy, Utilities and Technology

  • Mark W. Lawrence, Chair (D-York)
  • Eloise A. Vitelli (D-Sagadahoc)
  • Harold “Trey” L. Stewart, III (R-Aroostook)

Environment and Natural Resources

  • Stacy Brenner, Chair (D-Cumberland)
  • Anne M. Carney (D-Cumberland)
  • Richard A. Bennett (R-Oxford) 

Health Coverage, Insurance and Financial Services

  • Heather B. Sanborn, Chair (D-Cumberland)
  • Stacy Brenner (D-Cumberland)
  • Harold “Trey” L. Stewart, III (R-Aroostook)

Health and Human Services

  • Ned Claxton, Chair (D-Androscoggin)
  • Joseph Baldacci (D-Penobscot)
  • Marianne Moore (R-Washington)

Innovation, Development, Economic Advancement and Business

  • Glenn “Chip” Curry, Chair (D-Waldo)
  • Louis Joseph Luchini (D-Hancock)
  • Scott W. Cyrway (R-Kennebec)

Inland Fisheries and Wildlife

  • James F. Dill, Chair (D-Penobscot)
  • Glenn “Chip” Curry (D-Waldo)
  • Russell Black (R-Franklin)


  • Anne M. Carney, Chair (D-Cumberland)
  • Heather B. Sanborn (D-Cumberland)
  • Lisa M. Keim (R-Oxford)

Labor and Housing

  • Joseph Rafferty, Chair (D-York)
  • David R. Miramant (D-Knox)
  • Stacey K. Guerin (R-Penobscot)

Marine Resources

  • David R. Miramant, Chair (D-Knox)
  • Chloe S. Maxmin (D-Lincoln)
  • Kimberley C. Rosen (R-Penobscot)

State and Local Government

  • Joseph Baldacci, Chair (D-Penobscot)
  • Ned Claxton (D-Androscoggin)
  • Kimberley C. Rosen (R-Penobscot)


  • Benjamin M. Chipman, Chair (D-Cumberland)
  • Matthea Daughtry (D-Cumberland)
  • Matthew Pouliot (R-Kennebec)


  • William Diamond, Chair (D-Cumberland)
  • Benjamin M. Chipman (D-Cumberland)
  • Bradlee T. Farrin (R-Somerset)

Veterans and Legal Affairs

  • Louis Joseph Luchini, Chair (D-Hancock)
  • Susan A. Deschambault (D-York)
  • Bradlee T. Farrin (R-Somerset)

Government Oversight

  • Nathan L. Libby, Chair (D-Androscoggin)
  • Donna Bailey (D-York)
  • Eloise A. Vitelli (D-Sagadahoc)
  • Lisa M. Keim (R-Oxford)
  • Jeffery L. Timberlake (R-Androscoggin)
  • Richard A. Bennett (R-Oxford)


Sign up for my weekly update.

Don’t miss the latest news from Troy!