President Jackson, Senate Democratic Leaders congratulate newly elected constitutional officers

AUGUSTA—Senate President Troy Jackson of Allagash, Senate Majority Leader Nate Libby of Lewiston and Senate Majority Whip Eloise Vitelli of Arrowsic released the following statement regarding the election of constitutional officers on Wednesday:


“We want to offer our sincere congratulations to all three recently elected and re-elected constitutional officers. Secretary of State Matt Dunlap has served the state tremendously throughout his tenure in office, working to implement ranked-choice voting, safeguard elections and maintain public records. Both State Treasurer-Elect Henry Beck and Attorney General-Elect Aaron Frey bring critical experience and fresh perspective to their new roles. We have the utmost confidence in their ability to take on these new responsibilities upholding the law and maintaining the integrity of our state’s finances.”


A joint session of the 129th Maine Legislature elected the following constitutional officers on Wednesday:

  • Hon. Henry Beck, State Treasurer. Beck is an attorney, who previously represented part of Waterville and part of Oakland in the Maine House of Representatives.
  • Hon. Aaron Frey, Attorney General. Frey is a defense attorney, who previously represented the part of Bangor and part of Orono in the Maine House of Representatives.
  • Hon. Matthew Dunlap, Secretary of State, was first elected to the office in 2004.



Sign up for my weekly update.

Don’t miss the latest news from Troy!